Optional

Well, it seemed as good a title as any for a first blog.  Welcome to those of you who have taken the time to come and see the idle ramblings of a mind often described as creative. 

I live in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.  By choice.  It is a great place to live, and I could probably live anywhere in the world I choose, but I met an incredible woman who is Vietnamese and did not want to leave.  Having traveled around this country for the past 4 years, I learned why and really love Vietnam for the fascinating cities, countryside, and amazing sights and people I see everyday on my travels inside and outside of the city.

I hope to comment from time to time about life here in VN, and will try to refrain from commenting too much on events and politics in my native country, the USA. I see I can include photos, so I’ll do that too from time to time.  Nothing like a pic to brighten up a website, right?  I welcome any of the readers to comment on what I write, on the substance not the writing, OK? 

For now I have to write a letter for my sister-in-law. She was recently denied a visa to return to America to put her autistic child back in the special education program in the Texas school the girl was attending.  In 4 months the child went from being mostly a hyper-active babbling vegetable to a busy, bilingual five year old who is showing a lot of promise to become a talented, articulate artist. The transformation is amazing and the girl, who is an American Citizen, is being denied an education and family life if her mother cannot accompany her back to America.  That is wrong, and we will be working to rectify this.

Later…ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

